South Sudan Officially Admitted To The East African Community Economic Bloc

eac 17th
EAC Heads of State at the 17th Ordinary EAC Heads of State Summit in Arusha Tanzania on March 2, 2016.


South Sudan has officially been admitted to the East African Community following a majority vote at the 17th Ordinary EAC Heads of State Summit in Arusha Tanzania on March 2, 2016.

South Sudan is the newest member of the economic bloc and she joins five other members; Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi.


A statement released by the EAC Secretariat announced the admission of South Sudan into the economic bloc which will henceforth comprise of 6 states (South Sudan, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi).

South Sudan applied to join the trade bloc right after attaining independence from Sudan after an invitation extension from Kenya’s then President Mwai Kibaki and Rwanda’s Paul Kagame.

South Sudan will be able to join the regional integration projects that the other members have been involved and enjoy budding socio-economic and bi-lateral prospects from her neighbors.

News in South Sudan was received with mixed feeling; with President Salva Kiir elating over the new citing immeasurable socio-economic gain for the world’s newest state. However the citizens have expressed doubts saying the delayed transitional government might not be able to take full advantage of their newly acquire status as an official member of the EAC.

The admission into the EAC means that South Sudan with a merely population of 12 million people will be economically exposed to the cumulative regional population of at least 150 million people with not restriction of movement of goods and services. The admission will revive the country’s crunching economy.

Read Also:  Kenya Agrees to Rejoin South Sudan UN Force
Written By
More from Goldberg

11 Dead, 52 Injured In Galkayo Over States Border Disputes; Leaders Call For Ceasefire

November 23, 2015; at least 11 people were killed and over 50...
Read More